top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureColleen King

I Want to Join Roller Derby Now


Retrieved from https://www.penguinrandomhouse.com/books/313687/roller-girl-by-victoria-jamieson/9780525429678/

The graphic novel Roller Girl by Victoria Johnson tells the story of Astrid, a twelve-year-old girl who dreams of becoming a roller derby star. Astrid realizes her dream after her mother brings her and her best friend to a roller derby show. Astrid is immediately enthralled by strong, tough women skating in the roller derby. Her best friend Nicole, on the other hand, is not sure how to feel about the violent sport. Nicole enjoys ballet and wants to attend a dance camp over the summer. Astrid is disappointed because she had hoped Nicole would sign up for roller derby camp with her. Astrid lies to her mother about Nicole attending roller derby camp because she is worried her mom won't let her go alone. Astrid is determined to do whatever it takes to be as good as her roller derby role model, Rainbow Bite.

Astrid quickly discovers that roller derby is hard work. She is tested physically, mentally, and emotionally. However, she eventually finds her place among the other skaters when she learns the true meaning of teamwork. Astrid’s friendship with Nicole is pushed to its limits. The two girls realize they enjoy very different things and follow separate paths. Astrid finds a group of friends among the roller derby girls and she realizes that being herself is not so hard after all.

My book discussion about Roller Girl was not what I expected. I thoroughly enjoyed this book but I felt a bit awkward when discussing it with my peers. It could just be the video chat format of the discussion, but there were many uncomfortable silences. I had gone into the discussion ready to analyze Astrid’s transformation into a strong, confident roller derby player. Discussions like this will help me grow and realize how to connect better with others. There will always be moments when a group does not mesh well or does not agree on something. If all of my book discussions went smoothly, I wouldn’t be able to learn how to handle a approach challenges or solve problems. I therefore feel more prepared after my discussion of Roller Girl.

Reference

Johnson, V. (2015). Roller Girl. New York, NY: Penguin Random House.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page