top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureColleen King

Calling All Rebels!


Click here to watch a book trailer about Property of the Rebel Librarian by Allison Varnes.



Penguin Random House. (2019). Retrieved from https://www.penguinrandomhouse.com/books/562516/property-of-the-rebel-librarian-by-allison-varnes/9781524771478/


On being a multimedia project creator:

Multimedia projects allow students and professionals to express their creative talents and build something meaningful. Every time I create a multimedia project, I save it somewhere, either online, on my computer, or on the cloud. I never know when I might need to give an example of a project I have done. It feels good to have a small portfolio of book talks, prezis, videos, and posters that I can show to future employers or colleagues.

Designing my Prezi for Property of the Rebel Librarian was one of my favorite multimedia projects thus far. I truly love this book and its main character, June. June becomes the driving force behind an anti-censorship movement at her middle school. I used a Prezi designed like a book to connect my presentation to the books June strives to protect. I decided to break down my presentation into different segments, highlighting specific parts of the book such as plot, characters, and takeaways. In this way, I hope to make my presentation clear and easy to understand in a way that captures the attention of viewers. I narrated what is on the slides to make my presentation accessible to differently-abled people as well. I hope my project urges not only my classmates, but also readers outside of class, to pick up a copy of Varnes' book. It is a truly joyful read that will have you laughing. But it might also cause you to ask important questions about censorship and power structures.


References

Allisonvarnes.com. (2018). Retrieved from https://www.allisonvarnes.com/about-allison

Goodman, E. (17 October, 2016). OMG Shakespeare: An Infomercial. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zgLii1Q3x1I&feature=youtu.be

Varnes, A. (2018). Property of the Rebel Librarian. New York, NY: Penguin Random House

Varnes, A. (2013). Twitter. Retrieved from https://twitter.com/allisonvarnes?lang=en




3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page